Period 1 

Wednesday 8/14/19:  C Day

                                   Intro. to MVHS & Assembly

Thursday 8/15/19:  C Day

                               Thinking like a Scientist

                              

Friday 8/16/19:  Notecard

                          Go over syllabus (get signed)

                          Website

                          Lab Safety - Lab Guidelines  (get signed)

                          

                         

Monday 8/19/19:  Fun Facts

                             Book Scavenger Hunt

                             HMWK:  Signed lab safety (guidelines)

                                           Signed syllabus

                                           Finish scavenger hunt

                                           NEED COMPOSITION BOOK

Tuesday 8/20/19:  Collect homework & signed forms

                              Warm-up:  Is it Alive?

                              Characteristics of Life Notes

                              Levels of Organization Powerpoint - notes

                             

Wednesday 8/21/19:  Finish Levels of Organization Video & add to warm-up book

                                   Living or Non...That is the Question Activity

                                   Discuss specimens (powerpoint)

                                   HMWK:  Finish Living vs. Non activity if you didn't in class

                                                 Get forms signed if not done already

                                                 STILL NEED COMPOSITION NOTEBOOK FOR WARM-UPS

Thursday 8/22/19:  Office Hour Schedule

                               Warm-up:  Overhead Review of Characteristics of Life

                               Collect signed forms

                               Discuss lab L/NL/D

                               Discuss scavenger hunt & mistakes/  Success in Bio

                               Scientific Method Notes

Friday 8/23/19:  Gummi Bear Activity

Monday 8/26/19:  Late Start Schedule

                             Finish lab (graphs & conclusion questions)

                             Warm-up:  Simpsons Scientific Method Review

                            

 

Tuesday 8/27/19:  Time to discuss as lab groups & study notes

                              Quiz

                             

Wednesday 8/28/19:  Recess Wednesday

                                   Microscope Notes

                                   Warm-up w/ characteristics of life & microscope - printed out

Thursday 8/29/19:(Ab)  Office Hours

                                      Microscope Lab Part 1 & 2

 

Friday 8/30/19:(Ab)  Office Hours

                                 Microscope Lab Part 3 

Tuesday 9/3/19:  Warm-up:  Microscope picture & graphing errors powerpoint

                            Being a Scientist:   Graphing Activity

                            HMWK:  Study Microscope Parts 

                                  

Wednesday 9/4/19:  Being a Scientist:  C.E.R. Activity

                                 HMWK:  Finish C.E.R. on viruses if you didn't in class

                                                 Study

Thursday 9/5/19:  SCHOOL CANCELLED - FIRES

Friday 9/6/19:  SCHOOL CANCELLED - FIRES

Monday 9/9/19:  Late Start

                           Turn in CER Activity

                           Chapter 1 Test

Tuesday 9/10/19:  Warm-up:  Living Relying on Nonliving

                              Discuss test

                              Introduction to Ecology Wkst. 

                              HMWK:  Introduction to Ecology Wkst.  - if didn't finish in class

Wednesday 9/11/19:  9/11 Assembly Schedule

                                   Introduction to Ecology Notes - powerpoint

                                   Ecological Survey 

                                   HMWK:  Finish research on chaparral biome on Ecological Survey - if didn't in class 

Thursday 9/12/19:  Office Hours

                               Collect Survey

                               Discuss Ecological Survey - what is the chaparral biome

                               Warm-up:  1/2 sheet using a food web

                               Notes:  heterotroph, autotroph, food chains, food webs

                              

Friday 9/13/19:  Office Hours

                          Coral Reef Ecosystem Activity -  assigned an organism, do research in class, make notecard for next class

Monday 9/16/19:  Late Start

                             Warm-up:  Read article about 10% rule, take notes & answer questions

                             Called up to put your organism (notecard) on the food web (front of class)

                             Discuss food web (what is missing, what can happen if disrupted)

                             Answer conclusion questions regarding the food web

                            

Tuesday 9/17/19:  Notes:  Energy Pyramids

                             Energy Transfer Analysis Activity 

                             HMWK:  Finish Activity if didn't in class

Wednesday 9/18/19:  Warm-up:  Chapter 13 Review w/ ecological pyramid

                                   Amoeba sisters Video Food Webs

                                   Cycle Jigsaw - (Intro. - get into expert groups & home groups)

                                  

Thursday 9/19/19:  Office Hours

                               Finish Jigsaw (get into home groups)

                               HMWK:  Study cycles for quiz:  Water & Carbon Cycles

                                                                                    Nitrogen & Phosphorus

                   

Friday 9/20/19:  Office Hours

                          Cycles Video on computer - add to notes

                          Biogeochemical Cycles Quiz

                         

Monday 9/23/19:  Late Start & Rally

                             Notes Ch. 14

                             EXTRA CREDIT OPPORTUNITY:  Symbiosis- due Friday 10/4 - NO LATE EXTRA CREDIT

Tuesday 9/24/19:  Discuss extra credit opportunity

                              Warm-up (T/F on cycles, types of symbiosis)

                             

Wednesday 9/25/19:  Notes - Ch. 14 - growth, carrying capacity

                                   Rabbits, Rabbits, and More Rabbits:  Logistic Growth in Animal Populations

Thursday 9/26/19:  Warm-up:  Logistic Growth

                               Quizzes back & fix for more points

                              

Friday 9/27/19:  Behavior Activity

                          HMWK:  Study for test

Monday 9/30/19:  Late Start

                             Finish Behavior Activity - gallery walk

                             Time to ask questions & study for test

                             HMWK:  Study for test

 

Tuesday 10/1/19:  Ecology Test

Wednesday 10/2/19:   DHMO Warm-up

                                   Discuss DHMO & show penn & teller DHMO video

                                   Water Lab

                                   

 

Thursday 10/3/19:  Finish lab

                               HMWK:  Water Review

Friday 10/4/19:  Collect homework

                              Water Notes

                              Acid/Base Notes (powerpoint)

                              Crash Course Video:  Global Carbon Cycle

                             

Monday 10/5/19:  Our Acidifying Ocean - Work on Part 1 & Part 2

                                          Link:  Our Acidifying Ocean

                                                or:  new link

                              HMWK:  Finish Part 2 for homework

Tuesday 10/8/19:  Discuss lab and what was going on

                              Get a chromebook & finish Part 3 of virtual lab (demonstrate for class how to measure)  

                             

Wednesday 10/9/19:  Discuss the lab results (powerpoint)

                                  HMWK:  Macromolecule Introduction

 

Thursday 10/10/19:  Office Hours

                                 Collect homework

                                 Warm-up - Macromolecules

                                 Begin Macromolecule Notes - Carbs & Lipids

                           

Friday 10/11/19:  Office Hours

                            Macromolecule Pamphlet - start working on using chromebooks

Monday 10/14/19:  Late Start

                               Finish notes  - Proteins & Nucleic Acids

                              

Tuesday 10/15/19:  Finish working on Pamphlet

                               HMWK:  Macromolecule Pamphlet due next week 10/21

 

Wednesday 10/16/19:  College & Career Kickoff

 

Thursday 10/17/19:  Macromolecule Cut-out Activity

                                 HMWK:  Finish pamphlet

Friday 10/18/19:  Finish Cut-out Activity

                            Finish pamphlet

Monday 10/21/19:  Late Start

                              Collect macromolecule cut-out activity

                              Macromolecule Quiz (use pamphlet)

                             

Tuesday 10/22/19:  Notes:  Enzymes

                               HMWK:  Read Toothpickase Lab

Wednesday 10/23/19:  Recess Wednesday

                                     Toothpickase Lab

Thursday 10/24/19:  Office Hours

                                 Finish Toothpickase Lab

Friday 10/25/19:  Office Hours

                            Indicator Lab

Monday 10/28/19:  Late Start

                               Finish Indicator Lab

Tuesday 10/29/19:  Bean Juice Lab

 

Wednesday 10/30/19:  Finish  Bean Juice Lab

 

Thursday 10/31/19:  Write up lab

Monday 11/4/19:  Write up lab

                             Lab due next class

 

Tuesday 11/5/19: Lab due

                            Study for test

Wednesday 11/6/19:  Biochemistry Test

 

Thursday 11/7/19:  Office Hours

                               Discuss Cell Extra Credit

                               Cell chart 

Friday 11/8/19:  Finish cell chart

 

Tuesday 11/12/19:  Go over cell chart - check for accuracy

                               

Wednesday 11/13/19:  Disorders caused by cell organelles not functioning

Thursday 11/14/19:  Office Hours

                                 Warm-up:  Membrane

                                 Cell Transport Notes

                                    Diffusion/Osmosis Virtual Lab 

                                             Diffusion

                                             Video:  How diffusion works

                                             Osmosis

                                             Video:  How osmosis works

                                             Virtual Lab

                               

Friday 11/15/19:  Office Hours

                            Finish Diffusion/Osmosis Virtual Lab

                            HMWK:  Finish lab if didn't in class

                                  

 

 

© 2023 by Art School. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • c-facebook